Tetra Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Tetra
Shop Water Treatments and Solutions for Aquariums or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Tetra Aquarium AlgaeControl

Tetra Aquarium AlgaeControl

Tetra AlgaeControl™ not only combats aquarium algae, it also works to keep it from returning. AlgaeControl™ is highly effective against green water (algal blooms), bluegreen algae, diatoms or “brown algae,” hair algae or blanketweed that grow on the glass and décor. Unlike some other products on the market, Tetra AlgaeControl™ can be safely used in planted aquariums. Tetra's precision dropper tops help consumers administer the proper dose to their aquarium. One drop treats one gallon.
Average Customer Rating:
3.125 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
4 out of 757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
68 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aquarium AlgaeControl
Review 1 for Aquarium AlgaeControl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what iy says om the tin :)

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ohio, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?6-12 months
Type of tank:Goldfish
Size of tank:11 to 20 gallons
I've had an algae bloom problem for weeks, I tried replacing the water numerous times, cleaning the tank and equipment but within a day the luminous green water would return. The biggest problem is that the tank is in direct sunlight.
I decided to try using this product....
Within hours I noticed a difference, by the next day the algae was gone, no more luminous green water....
Very happy with the results....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aquarium AlgaeControl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product work as it is said to do.

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
First time using this product and it works great didn't had a single problem with it. Did what it suppose to do I'm happy with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aquarium AlgaeControl
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Killed my large healthy African chiclid

PostedMay 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from United States
How long have you owned an aquarium?6-12 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Larger than 50 gallons
I dropped the algae control to clear some brown algae attached to glass not sure whether i need to remove fishes before throwing this in. I sprayed in water circulator (catridge) and within few hours my 2 African chiclid died and rest are mostly inactive. Only difference from previous day is that i added few drops of Algae control from tetra, the fishes lived happily for more than 3 months and i didnt change the water in last 3 weeks..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aquarium AlgaeControl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aquarium Algae Control worked great

PostedApril 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Conyers, GA, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Goldfish
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
I have a small aquarium and was upset when it turned green as soon as the weather warmed up. I used this product and was very happy with the results. The water cleared up and all the algae disappeared very quickly. Just two drops and the water was crystal clear the next day. Thanks Tetra!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aquarium AlgaeControl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great algae control product even works with turtle tanks.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Reptile/Amphibian
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
This is the best algae control product I ever had. I am very happy with it. It even works with turtle tanks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aquarium AlgaeControl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My 6 year old goldfish died within a day of using.

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
How long have you owned an aquarium?3+ years
Type of tank:Goldfish
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
Followed the directions to the T.....so sad. I wish I would have just scrubbed the algae off.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aquarium AlgaeControl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It cleared our tank AND our fish!

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
How long have you owned an aquarium?3+ years
Type of tank:Tropical
We experienced a huge algae bloom in our fish tank. We relocated the tank thinking that it may have been exposed to too much light. Then we did a 40-50% water change and replaced the filter. Nothing changed. Based on a recommendation we purchased this wretched product. We followed the instructions to the letter, and within 3 days ALL of our fish died- including our plecostomus, nails and newborn Black Mollies.
So yes, this product got rid of the algae. Our tank has never looked better, but now it's empty....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aquarium AlgaeControl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

sand would be more effective

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from new jersey
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Goldfish
Size of tank:11 to 20 gallons
I use this in my 20 gallon tank, and even when i leave my filter out and let it circulate around for a week, it does literally nothing. It was probably the worst algae control product I have ever bought. Don't waste your money on it, go buy Jungle brand No More Algae. That stuff actually works, and quite well at that.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kyuzo
San Diego
 
Please wait while more information about Kyuzo is loaded.
Additional information about Kyuzo could not be loaded.
Algae Control
Posted January 4, 2013
First time using it and it work great. I don't have any problem with it and I have a 5 gallon fish tank. ^-^
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)