Tetra Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Tetra
Shop Aquarium and Fish Tank Kits or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Tetra Tetra LED Aquarium Kits

Tetra Tetra LED Aquarium Kits

All Tetra LED Aquarium Kits include the following: • Glass Aquarium. Built to last. Scratch Resistant. Made in the USA. Lifetime warranty on 20G, 29G and 55G aquarium glass tanks. • LED Hoods. Energy saving LEDs that create a natural shimmer effect. No bulbs to replace. Saves money and environmentally-conscious. Low-profile, black hood design for sleek appearance. Feeding hole. Hinges for easy access during maintenance. Two hoods are included in the 55 gallon kit. • Whisper Filtration System. Multi-Density Floss removes particles. Activated Carbon eliminates odors, discoloration and toxins. Bio-Foam removes toxic ammonia and nitrates. 10 gallon kit contains the PF-10; 20 gallon contains the Whisper 20; 29 gallon contains the Whisper 30; 55 gallon contains the Whisper 60. • Aquarium Heater & Thermometer. Maintains water temperature. Essential for tropical fishkeeping. (Included in 20G, 29G and 55G Kits.) • Fish Net • Product Samples: TetraMin tropical fish food and AquaSafe water conditioner • Set up and care guides Unfortunately, due to the high cost of shipping glass, we are not available at this time to offer our glass aquariums for sale through our online store. Please visit your local pet retailer to find these kits.
Average Customer Rating:
3.125 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
13 out of 2454%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
60 Questions | 79 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Review 1 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 gallon aquarium

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fishguy123
from XXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXX
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Goldfish
Size of tank:11 to 20 gallons
Got one for Christmas! The fish are very happy in it. Aqua safe is so easy and convenient to clean the new tap water you put in the tank. I would recommend this to anyone who is responsible and willing to take care of fish!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

55 Gal Tetra Boxed and Ready to Go

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
SaltyGirl
from Virginia
How long have you owned an aquarium?3+ years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Larger than 50 gallons
I purchased the 55 gal Tetra Boxed Aquarium when I was setting up my Fresh water tank 6 months ago. The kit contained every single thing I needed to set up my new tank. I gained some assistance from my LFS with a type of bacteria to help me get my tank going. I have been going strong now for 6 months. I have only had to purchase additional filters for the water filter. It's a nice addition to my living room and keeps the little ones entertained for hours. It truly is EVERYTHING you need to set up your aquarium. Just add FISH!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pondboy
 
Please wait while more information about pondboy is loaded.
Additional information about pondboy could not be loaded.
Posted May 24, 2012
Were did you get that kit from? thxs
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Major leaking.

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kaylabunny
from Spokane, wa
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Goldfish
Size of tank:21 to 50 gallons
Bought a ten gal tank today because I'm down sizing from a 29 gal. At first the tank was holding up. Then I noticed some dripping, then when I called my parents down to help me, the tank started to create a waterfall. It ruined my bookshelf and I'm super upset. My carpet is all wet but I did like the filter. It was super quiet. But I think tetra needs to work on the making sure the tank doesn't leak. The whole point of the tank is to keep water IN it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Tank and Its the Best in the Business

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nate1999
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
I love this tank so much the Filter and heater are great and it comes with everything you need
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Monjon
How long have you owned an aquarium?3+ years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Larger than 50 gallons
We purchased two 10 gal LED kits. The filters do a very poor job, even leaving a film on the top of the water. One heater quit after only 4 months. One tank sprung a leak today (less than a year old). Very disappointed with the quality. We have owned aquariums for over 20 yrs. Currently we own two 10 gal, a 29 gal, a 7 gal orb, and a 280 gal.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tetra LED Aquarium Kit

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
JohnC
from Providence, RI, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
Pros: Nice product.
Cons: Cannot find replacement led lights anywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best tank i have ever bought but one problem

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tommy1017
from Miami, FL, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
My tank looks beautiful especially with those leds. i think it lights up the aquarium perfect. My one problem is the flow of the filter, it will throw my fish around when they swim around it. But, its perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall, the best product I could find at the most affordable price!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
lilliejune
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
I actually own 2 tetra aquarium kits, and I must say that I am absolutely pleased with both. I own a 10 gal and a 5gal. After shopping around at the big name pet stores, I did conclude that this is one of the best (if no the best) quality aquariums for its price. Most starter kits no matter how big or small are extremely expensive. This one comes with just about everything you need to start off an aquarium - and yes, while there are definitely better quality aquariums out there, for someone looking for just a hobby or someone on a budget, it can't be matched (trust me, I've looked.) I have also had issues with the regular light bulbs on a lot of the higher end aquarium kits in the past. After getting sick of them and switching over to the LED ones, I assure you I will never go back! They work great and make the tank look much better than the traditional bulb. I also have no signs of scratching on my tanks - despite me carrying them to and from the bathtub to fill it up initially. I am very pleased with both my aquariums and my good experience with this brand is turning my hobby of enjoying fish into one in which I want to breed them now. I'm definitely getting another one for the future and I'm thinking a 55 gallon next!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought @ Walmart 29.99

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tucsonguy
from Tucson, AZ
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
They are selling an older model without the LED lights. The tank is excellent. Mine was built 25 days before I bought it. I had to replace the pump, no problem with that at all.
I have a beautiful all natural tank with a few too many fish. I learned thanks to help at my fish store aout m/f ratios and how important it is to check about every fish. They are little devils, both the boys and girls. I thought I was a killer, but alas the boys were killing each other over too few females in the tank. That is how I ended up with three extra girls. Don't do what I did, get the ratio correct from the start.
Have fun, I am.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

20 gallon starter kit - the Hood is REALLY cheap

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
FishTank
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Goldfish
Size of tank:11 to 20 gallons
Bought a 20 gallon starter kit for my son. Originally took home the unit with the LED lights. The hood is extremely cheap and flimsy. The LED lights snap onto the roof. There is also only a little hole on the front to drop fish food.
LUCKY that the pump actually failed after 1 day and the temperature strip was missing so I actually returned the whole kit. The only one that they had remaining was a florescent light version. This kit had a much studier hood. There is glass pane where the florescent light housing sits on top of. In addition, the lid contains a door (across the entire length of the front) which allows access to the water for feeding and cleaning.
So if you had a choice my preference, get the unit with the florescent light fixture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ehhhhh!

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeff67
from MI
How long have you owned an aquarium?3+ years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
Bought the Deluxe (LED) Kit @ Petco because it was on sale for under $40. I only needed the tank and lighting because I use a sponge filter for the Killifish. I figured this way it was cheaper to buy the kit rather than a tank and lighting seperately. THAT was my first mistake. The only thing these LED lights are good for is making the tank a bit brighter than the darkness. They do NOT provide enough light for any plant other than plastic. I have some of the hardiest low maintenance plants and they are struggling. The lighting does no wonders for the colors of my fish either. I used a flourescent hood from another tank for comparison and guess what? The colors of my killifish pop right out at you. IN essence I spent $40 for nothing more than a 10 gallon tank and a packet of fish food. Lesson Learned. If you want a tank with nothing but Plastic Plants and you have Silver and Black Fish then this Set UP is adequate. If you expect anything more, you will be disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Two 10 gallon tank kits

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
seattletetra
from Seattle, WA
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
User submitted photo
We bought two of these 10 gallon tank kits. Having never owned any fish except a betta before, we followed all instructions from PetCo sales person and the enclosed instructions to the letter. We haven't had any issues with leaks - I think either you have a tank fully sealed, or you don't.
The kit came with everything except a fish scooper (net), extension tubes for the filter, gravel, fish and any plant/decorations you want for the tank.
We set it up in this order: Tank poster on back of tank, washed gravel, thermometer, heater, lid #with light#, filter, add water with 5ml de-chlorinator. We let the water sit about 24 hours till the heater had warmed up the tank. Then we added plants #live# and decorations. And finally the fish.
This would have been 5 stars except for the fact that one of the 2 attachments that attach the lid to the tank broke during install - very flimsy so be gentle. Also, the tank is called tetra tank #which are tiny fish#, but there is no extension tube packed in with, so the filter tube doesn't reach to the bottom of the tank. We only learnt this was important with tiny danois fish because one got stuck up the tube and perished.
Tips for first timer:
If you're putting a background poster on the back of the tank - do this before installing filter.
Put the temperature strip before filling tank with water.
In case you miss the sticker at the bottom of the tank - the top of the tank with the side with "notches" on the corners is the BACK side where the lid hinges.
When you get the fish, put the plastic bag with fish as is, floating on the top of the tank for about 20 minutes. The temp in bag will equalize with that of tank. Then don't pour out the fish and water, but instead scoop out the fish and put into water.
Fill filter chamber with tank water before turning on filter.
The kit has coupon for buying fish at a discount.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great little tank...

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
floyd
from CA
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
I got the 10 gallon tank for X-mas. It was very easy to set up and is really relatively quiet. Of course in a quiet room you can definately hear the filter operating, but it is easily drowned out by other sounds like music, TV, etc.
I got the model with the tiny LED lights which I find mildly disappointing. There are pro's to the lights, as they are very low profile and make for a compact, streamlined looking tank and perhaps they are more energy efficient. But with the placement of the 3 small banks of lights my tank seems kind of shadow-y and dim, which is not helped by my choice of dark colored gravel and background. I think more lights (like 5-6 banks) may be helpful for future models.
All-in-all, its a great little tank for the price and very easy to maintain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

moderately impressed.

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
grouping
from indianapolis, IN
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:11 to 20 gallons
i have bought the 10 gallon starter kit. im pretty impressed but i think there are a few things that could be improved . first.) i think you should get at least 2 filters to change. 2.) i think that we could use a trial size bottel (mabye a 1 ounce bottel) of water conditioner. but besides that im very impressed with my aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

loud filter

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
nathan
from windsor ont
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:11 to 20 gallons
my filter is so loud and being in my room i cant sleep with it on iam disappointed in this because it seemed like a great product before i set it up
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from TetraKileyMarketingAugust 27, 2012
We've tried to email you directly regarding your issue but it has bounced. We'd like to make this right. Can you please contact us at Consumersupport@unitedpetgroup.com? Thanks!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

leaky filter

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
COTT87
from monroeville, ohio
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:21 to 50 gallons
i bought my tetra size 29 aquarium kit less that 2 weeks ago. the tank is great and seems to be holding up, but the filter has since stopped actually filtering the water, but instead sucks the water up and then it falls right out where the tube connects to the filter itself. i am highly dissapointed in how poorly this filter worked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
McJohnaver
Silver Springs, FL
 
Please wait while more information about McJohnaver is loaded.
Additional information about McJohnaver could not be loaded.
Check the connecting rubber seal
Posted December 24, 2012
My Tetra 10gal tank came with a filter that required a rubberband type connector between the siphon tube and the motor tube. I had to work with it quite abit before it would function properly. Try checking to see that it seated 100% and then see if that resolves your problem. Good luck!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer Avatar
GLogan
New Brunswick, Canada
 
Please wait while more information about GLogan is loaded.
Additional information about GLogan could not be loaded.
Check your filter
Posted June 28, 2012
In the manual, you will see this is a symptom of a dirty filter. And at two weeks you should change your filter, if you have a lot of fish in there. You probably shouldn't have any more than 10 small fish in there. Example: in my 10 gallon aquarium, I have a beta fish and I rarely need to clean the tank.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

leaky aquarium tank

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
hockeyplayer
from tampa florida
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
i bought the aquarium from a retailer and not even 24 hours later after got everything out, i set the tank on a stand , & i filled the aquarium with water and added gravel and now the tank has a leak in it and the water has gone off of the aquarium stand onto my floor in a puddle.. as it is leaking from the bottom somewhere.. i am not satisified with it now and would not recommend it to anyone if they had to deal with this one issue especially those who has a carpet floors.. it is a new tank one right out of the box and this is the first time i ever had such a leak problem right off the bat with the tank kit..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This pruduct seems weekly built

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
cows
from Williams Lake, Canada
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Goldfish
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
I purchased a 10 gallon tank. I set it up and 6 hours later it had all leaked out all over the place. One place it leaked was about half way up one corner, and the other was along the bottom. I would so far not recomend this for anyone. And if you do get one set it up in your bathtub for 48 hours at least.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Storm
Chicago, IL
 
Please wait while more information about Storm is loaded.
Additional information about Storm could not be loaded.
From Experience:
Posted April 25, 2012
Every time you get an aquarium, no matter the brand, the first thing you should do is inspect the glass for cracks or scratches that may be unsightly when the aquarium is set up.
2.) Check the aquarium sealant on the edges and bottom of the tank. As you inspect it, be sure that the sealant is applied in an even bead down the edges and there are no breaks or bare spots in the rubber. Be sure to check that the sealant is applied all the way to the top of the tanks plastic rim around the top. If you ever over fill, you still want the tank to hold the water until you can remove the excess.
3.)You should always put your new tank into a bathtub or shower, or in a flat level WATER SAFE area and filled with room temperature water. After you wipe the outside of the aquarium dry, let it sit for a few hours, or overnight. Slow leaks will become apparent if there are any. Be sure the aquarium sits flat, if the tank is not evenly supported it puts stress on the glass and could create leaks, or break the tank.
4.) If there are manufacturer defects with the tank, contact the store you bought it from, or the manufacturer. If the tank is within warranty, they can most likely help you solve your problem quickly.
5.) If there are no leaks and everything looks good, drain the tank. Do not lift aquariums with water in them. It voids most warranties, and can break your tank or cause leaks from uneven tension on the glass and sealant.
6.) If you are new to the hobby of fish keeping, research and knowledge are everywhere on the internet. Look into a few different sources. Learn about the breeds of fish you would like to keep. The more you know, the better you can care for your fish. They depend on you to live just like a dog or a cat or a child. :)
** I actually purchased this kit, had a leak in the first one but I exchanged it at the retail store I bought it from. The second kit was fine. It has been up and running now for over a year with no problems.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is not worth the hassle.

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Disappointed
from North Carolina
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Goldfish
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
I have purchased 2 10 gallon kits over the last 2 weeks. Both have leaked. The first one within an hour of setting it up. The second one started leaking the next day. What a horrible mess. I am returning both to the store of purchase. I still need an aquarium so I am going to look for a different brand. It looks like quality control failed at the place of mfg. I am disappointed because it looked so nice when set up!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaking

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
horseluvr
I have owned my kit for 3 years now and with in the first week it leaked all over my desk in my dorm room. Since then I have always had to keep a towel under it. Lately I have hardly been able to keep water in it because of how badly it has been leaking. I would NEVER recommend this product to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Storm
Chicago, IL
 
Please wait while more information about Storm is loaded.
Additional information about Storm could not be loaded.
Test aquariums in a waterproof area before setup
Posted April 26, 2012
If the aquarium was leaking when you bought it, you should have contacted customer service or brought it back to the store you got it from. They could have replaced the tank with one that didn't leak. No matter what brand of aquarium you purchase, every tank has the potential to have defects from construction or damage in shipping. Place the tank on a level surface in a bathtub, shower, water safe floor, etc. Fill with room temperature water and dry the outside of the tank completely. Let tank sit a few hours or overnight and slow leaks will become apparent. If the tank is damaged at this point return or exchange it for an undamaged aquarium.
Keeping a wet towel underneath an aquarium for 3 years will create potentially serious problems for the tank, for the item supporting the tank, and for your health! The towel itself can create an uneven surface causing stress to the glass and the waterproof seals around the edges of your tank.
Since you have had it for 3 years the warranty is probably not in effect any longer, but you can purchase aquarium sealant and fix the seal yourself. There are instructions and tutorials online on how to do this.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1 2 next>>