Tetra Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Tetra
Shop Tanks and Fish aquarium Kits or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Tetra Tetra LED Aquarium Kits

Tetra Tetra LED Aquarium Kits

All Tetra LED Aquarium Kits include the following: • Glass Aquarium. Built to last. Scratch Resistant. Made in the USA. Lifetime warranty on 20G, 29G and 55G aquarium glass tanks. • LED Hoods. Energy saving LEDs that create a natural shimmer effect. No bulbs to replace. Saves money and environmentally-conscious. Low-profile, black hood design for sleek appearance. Feeding hole. Hinges for easy access during maintenance. Two hoods are included in the 55 gallon kit. • Whisper Filtration System. Multi-Density Floss removes particles. Activated Carbon eliminates odors, discoloration and toxins. Bio-Foam removes toxic ammonia and nitrates. 10 gallon kit contains the PF-10; 20 gallon contains the Whisper 20; 29 gallon contains the Whisper 30; 55 gallon contains the Whisper 60. • Aquarium Heater & Thermometer. Maintains water temperature. Essential for tropical fishkeeping. (Included in 20G, 29G and 55G Kits.) • Fish Net • Product Samples: TetraMin tropical fish food and AquaSafe water conditioner • Set up and care guides Unfortunately, due to the high cost of shipping glass, we are not available at this time to offer our glass aquariums for sale through our online store. Please visit your local pet retailer to find these kits.
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
9
23 out of 3664%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
121 Questions | 141 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Review 1 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 gallon aquarium

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from XXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXX
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Goldfish
Size of tank:11 to 20 gallons
Got one for Christmas! The fish are very happy in it. Aqua safe is so easy and convenient to clean the new tap water you put in the tank. I would recommend this to anyone who is responsible and willing to take care of fish!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

55 Gal Tetra Boxed and Ready to Go

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
How long have you owned an aquarium?3+ years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Larger than 50 gallons
I purchased the 55 gal Tetra Boxed Aquarium when I was setting up my Fresh water tank 6 months ago. The kit contained every single thing I needed to set up my new tank. I gained some assistance from my LFS with a type of bacteria to help me get my tank going. I have been going strong now for 6 months. I have only had to purchase additional filters for the water filter. It's a nice addition to my living room and keeps the little ones entertained for hours. It truly is EVERYTHING you need to set up your aquarium. Just add FISH!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pondboy
 
Please wait while more information about pondboy is loaded.
Additional information about pondboy could not be loaded.
Posted May 24, 2012
Were did you get that kit from? thxs
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

10 Gal GLOFISH Tank Kit

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Overland Park, KS, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?3+ years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
Wonderful starter kit. Glass tank was as expected. The top was made of plastic but that was expected for the price and being a kit. When I opened the box, I followed the easy instructions to set up. The only tip I would add is based on the blue/white lights cord length.... put the BLUE lights in the CENTER with the WHITE lights on each SIDE. Because the filter is right there, water does hit the lights but they are sealed and so far have not been a problem. Depending on the salesperson, they may or may not have experience on GLOFISH so I suggest you do some research in advance. I understand the Green sometime get aggressive so it is best to school at a minimum of 3 to 5. I sttarted with 3 to get my tank established after waiting for 2.5 days. Then in a week I added two more fish. The best glo'ers are the yellow and green in my opinion although I now have one of each tetras.
Per their suggestion,, I plan to get a catfish for bottom clean up. My goal for my 10 gal tank will be 12 to 15 fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good aquarium!!

PostedOctober 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
How long have you owned an aquarium?6-12 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:11 to 20 gallons
I really like this aquarium! it not expensive for the biz size ( 20 gal.) and it work properly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TECH SUPPORT

PostedOctober 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from California, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?3+ years
Size of tank:11 to 20 gallons
I BOUGHT MY 10 GALLON TANK ABOUT A YEAR AND A HALF AGO AND RECENTLY, 2 OF THE 3 LED LIGHTS IN THE COVER FAILED. I CHECKED AROUND AT STORES TRYING TO FIND A REPLACEMENT BUT WAS UNABLE TO. THERE WERE NO OTHER OPTIONS OTHER THAN BUYING A NEW TANK (JUST FOR THE LED LIGHTS) AND I FINALLY CONTACTED TETRA AND ASKED THEM WHAT OPTIONS I HAD. I WAS CONTACTED BY LAURA BRADLEY, A CONSUMER RELATIONS SPECIALIST, AND WAS INFORMED THAT A NEW UNIT WAS ON IT'S WAY. I RECEIVED THE NEW UNIT JUST THE OTHER DAY AND MY TANK IS ALL BACK TO NORMAL AGAIN. I WAS VERY PLEASED AT WHICH MY ISSUE WAS ADDRESSED AND CORRECTED AND WILL HIGHLY RECOMMEND THEIR PRODUCTS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This is a great fish tank for its size, good size for home aquarium.

PostedOctober 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
(click to see the video)
I find or I feel the power motor is very very noise considering to its size. I went to the store where I bought the fish tank, but I did not hear such a noise despite to a larger size of fish tanks and many of them were running at the same time. In addition, none of fish tank that was running similar to mine. Take a listen at the video from You Tube. https://youtu.be/ZDbqRJbdu1Q
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

JUNK!!!!!!

PostedAugust 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Manitoba, Canada
How long have you owned an aquarium?6-12 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
the leds are cheap, half of the set of led died and took forever to get a replacement. I bought this tank just over a year ago last aug 11 and just yesterday aug 30 the following year. so just after the warranty runs out the seals let go and the tank started to leak. Ive been in the hobby for over 15 years and none of my tanks have ever leaked, even the one im running now is old, who knows how old and not a drop, i know its at least 10 years my tank has been running.there product are just just good enough to make it just passed the warranty
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

29 Gallon Kit

PostedMay 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wausau, WI, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:21 to 50 gallons
I was weary of buying this brand because people told me it was a cheaper brand. So instead I purchased a different brand because people said it worked better. First day the tank leaked so I exchanged it and got the 29 Gallon Tetra brand tank. So far no leaks a better filter than the competitor and overall I am happy with all the Tetra products I purchased with the in box coupons. I had that tank cycled in 5 days with a lot of healthy bacteria. I would recommend this brand and make sure you check the tank and follow the instructions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great customer Service

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Altoona, PA, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?6-12 months
Type of tank:Goldfish
Size of tank:11 to 20 gallons
After a month and a half of purchasing this tank - the propeller in my filter stopped working. Without question or proof of purchase, they sent me a replacement filter system. Within the past week, my LED lights on the hood stopped working after owning the tank for 9 months. I again called their customer service number listed below, and they are sending me a replacement LED strip, no questions asked, and just asked that I pay shipping to return the strip! I'm very happy with their customer service and would purchase from this company again, as well as recommend it to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

kit has everything except the fish

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Winneconne, WI, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?6-12 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
I bought the 10 gallon kit a year ago and haven't had any issues with it. I poured some rocks on the bottom and suck them up when doing my 25% water changes, every other month. Make sure the water has a few days of circulating before adding fish so the good bacteria can establish on the filter. The LED lights are very bright and are unaffected when dropped in the water. Pump is quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wonderful investment!

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Farmington, MN, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?3+ years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Larger than 50 gallons
In November 2013 we purchased a 55 gal tank kit with the flat hoods that have led light strips and all the stuff you need to set up a tank. All you need to do is add fish. We have enjoyed how easy it is to keep this tank looking nice. In Dec 2014, one of the lighting strips grew very dim and that side of the tank was dark. I called Tetra customer service to find out where I could buy a replacement for this led strip. They replaced both strips under the warranty. Amazing customer service!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a company!

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:11 to 20 gallons
I got a tank set up for Christmas last year from my kids. The set up included the Tetra LED hood. About a month ago the lights started to fail. I e-mailed the company but after two weeks and another unanswered email, I called the customer service number and I got to speak to an actual person who was friendly and very helpful! She told me about a problem with the LED's and that until they could fix it they would not sell replacements. She then asked for my information and mailing address and said a replacement would arrive in 5-7 business days! What company does this now a days? This one! They stand behind their product and are willing to admit when there is a problem and then find a solution until the problem can be fixed! They have a fan for life!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great! But...

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kentucky, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:11 to 20 gallons
This is a good solid aquarium but... There are several flaws with this "kit". I hesitate to call it a kit because the debranded generic version of this they sell at Walmart, which comes with a Tetra filter, Tetra samples, and a Tetra care guide comes as well as the aquarium and a cheap LED lid. The first flaw is that the filter is NOT powerful enough and since it is an internal filter, it displaces quite a bit of water. Lucky I had an Aqueon HOB internal and self priming pump filter powerful enough for at least 20 gallons. The second flaw is that the plastic trim and lid are VERY soft and easy to scratch. I put a nick in the top molding during setup (Just rotated the tank and I am more careful). The one I got did not come with a heater or thermometer, (which I already had) must be that I got it at Walmart debranded and generic packaged. If you are looking for a 20 galleon tank kit, this (or the older version with the bulb hood) is about all you can get for less than $100. I would recommend this tank to anyone as long as they are aware they need a heater (or check the heater if it comes with one) and they'd need a HOB filter rated for 20+ gallons. All in all, a good solid tank, not so much a solid kit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Roscommon, MI 48653, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:21 to 50 gallons
This kit is complete and total garbage! The filter that comes with the kit is a 30 gallon and it needs at the very least a 40-60 gallon filter if your going to have more than 4 fish in it. Not enough to keep the water clean! way under sized for the Aquarium. The heater is a piece of junk. Only had it a few days and have to replace it. so I spent a $100 some odd dollars on kit that came with everything. And I have to turn around and buy a larger filter system and a new heater! If you want a aquarium don't buy a kit. Buy everything separate and make sure your getting some thing good for your money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Major leaking.

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spokane, wa
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Goldfish
Size of tank:21 to 50 gallons
Bought a ten gal tank today because I'm down sizing from a 29 gal. At first the tank was holding up. Then I noticed some dripping, then when I called my parents down to help me, the tank started to create a waterfall. It ruined my bookshelf and I'm super upset. My carpet is all wet but I did like the filter. It was super quiet. But I think tetra needs to work on the making sure the tank doesn't leak. The whole point of the tank is to keep water IN it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Tank and Its the Best in the Business

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
I love this tank so much the Filter and heater are great and it comes with everything you need
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
How long have you owned an aquarium?3+ years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Larger than 50 gallons
We purchased two 10 gal LED kits. The filters do a very poor job, even leaving a film on the top of the water. One heater quit after only 4 months. One tank sprung a leak today (less than a year old). Very disappointed with the quality. We have owned aquariums for over 20 yrs. Currently we own two 10 gal, a 29 gal, a 7 gal orb, and a 280 gal.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tetra LED Aquarium Kit

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Providence, RI, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
Pros: Nice product.
Cons: Cannot find replacement led lights anywhere.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best tank i have ever bought but one problem

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Miami, FL, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?Less than 6 months
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
My tank looks beautiful especially with those leds. i think it lights up the aquarium perfect. My one problem is the flow of the filter, it will throw my fish around when they swim around it. But, its perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tetra LED Aquarium Kits
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall, the best product I could find at the most affordable price!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
How long have you owned an aquarium?1-3 years
Type of tank:Tropical
Size of tank:Less than 10 gallons
I actually own 2 tetra aquarium kits, and I must say that I am absolutely pleased with both. I own a 10 gal and a 5gal. After shopping around at the big name pet stores, I did conclude that this is one of the best (if no the best) quality aquariums for its price. Most starter kits no matter how big or small are extremely expensive. This one comes with just about everything you need to start off an aquarium - and yes, while there are definitely better quality aquariums out there, for someone looking for just a hobby or someone on a budget, it can't be matched (trust me, I've looked.) I have also had issues with the regular light bulbs on a lot of the higher end aquarium kits in the past. After getting sick of them and switching over to the LED ones, I assure you I will never go back! They work great and make the tank look much better than the traditional bulb. I also have no signs of scratching on my tanks - despite me carrying them to and from the bathtub to fill it up initially. I am very pleased with both my aquariums and my good experience with this brand is turning my hobby of enjoying fish into one in which I want to breed them now. I'm definitely getting another one for the future and I'm thinking a 55 gallon next!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>